Boys Varsity Baseball · 2018 Season Awards Recap

With fall sports well underway, let’s look back at the post season baseball awards that were announced over the summer.  Coach Bunnell held the annual Post Season Awards Program on June 19th.  Team awards were voted on by players at the end of the season and announced at the event.  Sinclair recruit Matthew Meyer was named Pitcher of the Year for his solid season as the Rocks ace on a talented staff.  Logan McClurg earned the Silver Slugger Award and Bryce Dorton took home the Most Improved Award.  Logan McClurg won his second Gold Glove Award and Zach Collins received the “Go the Distance” Award that annually goes to the player that goes the extra mile.  Matthew Meyer wrapped up the team awards by taking home the Impact Player Award for his outstanding all-around season.

In mid-June, the Hoosier Crossroads Conference announced their All Conference Team and the Rocks, with a fourth place finish in the HCC,  had two selections and two Honorable Mentions.  Matthew Meyer and Logan McClurg were named to the All HCC team while Sam Eaton and Zach Collins were named Honorable Mention.

The IHSBCA All-State team was announced and Westfield had one selection at Honorable Mention.  Matthew Meyer was selected as Honorable Mention at Shortstop.  Meyer was also selected to the IHSBCA Academic All-State, just the fifth in school history to earn this prestigious honor.  Mike McBride earned the honor in 2012, Nathan Manworren in 2013, and Alec Nelson and Jake Dietz in 2014.

At the IHSAA State Finals, the All Star committee selected Matthew Meyer for the North team.  This selection marks just the seventh Indiana All Star in school history.  Jake Hansen was selected in 2008, Kyle Kramp in 2009, Nathan Manworren in 2013, Luke Dietz in 2014, Chris Ayers in 2015 and Milo Beam in 2016 are the Rocks to play in the All Star Series.  Matthew participated in the weekend event held at Four Winds Field, home of the South Bend Cubs and performed very well for the North Team.